Kremlin party as Russia annexes eastern Ukraine


Published 30 September 2022 at 13.53

Foreign. At 2 p.m., Russian President Vladimir Putin formally declares the four annexed Ukrainian regions – Luhansk, Donetsk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhya – as part of Russia.

Like the article på Facebook

Kremlin Press Secretary Dmitry Peskov has announced that the president will deliver a “crucial speech” in connection with the ceremony.

The announcement will be made during a large ceremony in the Grand Kremlin Palace and will be followed by celebrations at both Red Square and on the ground in the occupied areas of eastern Ukraine.

The US, the EU and NATO have expressed sharp criticism of the plans, and claim that they will never recognize the areas as part of Russia. The Security Council will shortly deal with the issue, and the world's eyes will then be directed above all at China and India.